Under 12 Grand Final Report – Season 2010-11
Posted by Ben McLean on Wednesday, 23 Mar 2011 at 8:51am

Under 12 Grand Final Report – Season 2010-11.

Semi Final

The under 12’s finished the home and away season in 4th position having lost the last three games of the season. In the semi final we came up against top placed Lysterfield at Lakesfield Reserve. We won the toss and batted first making a season high 9/185 from our 50 overs. Callum O’Connor 32*, Jack Marget 33* and Anthony Jongen 31* all retiring. They were ably assisted with a quick fire 25 from Nixon Adcock putting us in an excellent position overnight.

The following day the Lysterfield boys really came out with intent and were scoring at very good rate with our boys bowling a little too short and a bit too much leg side. Some excellent bowling from Nixon (2/24), Josh Jean (1/13) and Chinmay Sharma who chipped in with 2/4 was able to turn the game back our way, eventually dismissing the Beavers for 151. A job well done to knock off the top side on their turf.

Grand Final

We came up against the Eildon Park Cougars in the big one at Karoo Reserve, a side that we had beaten comprehensively earlier in the season but they had also beaten us in a one day game just two weeks prior. We lost the toss and Eildon batted first. The boys were keen to put in a better bowling performance than in the semi despite the heavy dew on the ground.

Eildon Park got off to a very solid start with our boys not doing a lot wrong. The first wicket did not fall until the Cougars had about 25 on the board with Josh Jean claiming the first scalp with a caught behind by Josh Curnow. The cougars continued their solid start getting to around 40 before Lucas Woodward pulled off a sensational run out with a direct hit knocking middle stump out of the ground from backward square leg. This was team lifting stuff and from there the boys never looked back.

Some excellent bowling from our two off spinners Nixon Adcock and Matt Plumridge totally tied up one end with Matt returning the superb figures of 0/3 from his 7 overs. Nixon was his usual economical self with an equally impressive 1/5 from 7. At the other end Hayden Morrison also bowled a superb spell ripping through the Cougars middle order with two bowled in consecutive balls. Hayden eventually finished with 2/10 from his 7 overs.  From there the Cougars collapsed with Josh Jean (3/11) and Chinmay Sharma (2/2) wrapping up the tail. The Cougars were all out for 84 from 46.5 overs. The last 7 Cougars batsmen contributed just 6 runs between them.

We had 15 minutes to bat on day 1 with Callum O’Connor and Hayden Morrison opening the innings seeing us through to stumps with all 10 wickets intact.

The next morning was different story with the Cougars striking with 2 early breakthroughs removing Callum and Hayden in quick succession leaving us at 2/6. Jack Marget and Josh Curnow steadied the ship somewhat getting the score along to 21 before Jack was dismissed but at 3/21 it was game on.

Anthony Jongen came to the crease and was positive from the start despite the extreme pressure. Josh was dismissed shortly after drinks with the score at 4/34 and the game evenly poised. Anthony looked set but scoring was difficult on the slow ground. The well set fields and tight bowling from the Cougars made life difficult for our boys.

Nixon joined Anthony at the crease at the fall of the 4thwicket but still needing 51 to win. Nixon and Anthony worked away at the total in 10 run increments in what was a titanic struggle and a fantastic contest.The pressure valve was eventually released and we had wrestled the game back our way when Nixon took full toll of some loose bowling that eventually came his way and the subsequent boundaries released the pressure valve and broke the resistance. Both boys were scoring freely by the time the winning runs were hit. Anthony and Nixon took the game away from the Cougars and both finished with 21 not out which saw us through to a six wicket win in a superb 51 run partnership.

A well deserved and hard earned premiership from what was the first season of competitive cricket for most of these boys. The achievement should not be understated as 8 or 9 of these boys are bottom age.

Well done boys – Great effort.

Josh Jean captured the first wicket then mopped up the tail in his second spell to finish with 3/11 from 5.5 overs.

Lucas (Jeff Thompson) Woodward opened the bowling for most of the year, Lucas is a magnificent fieldsman and his inspirational direct hit runout turned the game and was the start of the Cougars collapse.

Nixon Adcock bowled superbly capturing 1/5 from his 7overs. He also took 2 catches.

Matt Plumridge was even more economical with an amazing 0/3 from his 7 overs. Matt saved his best performance of the year for the big one.

Hayden Morrison ripped through the middle order clean bowling the number 4 and 5 batsmen with consecutive balls.

Chinmay Sharma captured 4 wickets from 4 overs in the final series to be the equal leading wicket taker.

One of our stars, Jack Marget had a magnificent season winning the association batting award for under 12. His sparkling 33 not out in the semi final set the tone for the finals assault.

Opening batsman Callum O’Connor along with Hayden Morrison helped see off the Cougars opening bowlers. His brilliant 32 not out in the semi was the foundation for the match winning score to book the grand final berth.


Anthony Jongen cuts on his way to 21 not out, he followed up his 31 not out in the semi final to cap off a magnificent finals series withthe bat totalling 52 undefeated runs.

Nixon Adcock sends one to the square leg boundary to finally break the resistance from the Cougars. Nixon’s 21 not out followed up his quick fire 25 in the semi. He was brilliant with bat and ball in bothfinals.

Winners are Grinners U 12 premiership team with Coach Ian Jongen (right) and Team Manager Russell Adcock (left).

From left, standing: Anthony Jongen, Hayden Morrison, Nixon Adcock. Josh Curnow, Jack Marget, Lucas Woodward, Dylan Priestley, Matt Rush, Matt Plumridge, Ben Edwards.

From left, Front: Josh Jean, Callum O’Connor, Chinmay Sharma.

All contributed throughout the season and all should be very proud of themselves, well done boys.

Views: 3889